Social Media Policy

Purpose

Social media is defined as any web application, site or account created and maintained by the Greater Sudbury Public Library (GSPL) which facilitates an environment for library staff and library users to share opinions and information about library-related subjects or issues.

Principles

We are committed to:

  • Responding to questions and concerns as quickly as possible
  • Maintaining the highest levels of accuracy, objectivity, and impartiality in the information that we communicate
  • Respecting the privacy and anonymity of those with whom we communicate
  • Respecting freedom of speech and difference of opinion while protecting staff and users from offensive, abusive, or otherwise inappropriate speech
  • Providing accessible and inclusive services

We expect the following from those who use our social media services:

  • Show courtesy and respect to GSPL staff and other users
  • Adhere to all levels of government legislation including the Ontario Human Rights Code

Policy

The Greater Sudbury Public Library regards online social media in the same way as its other information resources in accordance with its mission of enriching the lives of individuals and the spirit of the community by providing the highest quality library service to our citizens in their quest to read, learn, educate and dream.

In addition to the general rules respecting use of the library, the Greater Sudbury Public Library prohibits the use of its social media for any purpose which would contravene any legislation or government regulation, or which might create civil liability by the user or the Library Board to any person. For example, the Ontario Human Rights Code prohibits certain forms of discrimination and harassment of other individuals or groups, and the Criminal Code of Canada includes prohibitions against child pornography, obscenity, hate literature, sedition and literature for illicit drug use. An example of civil liability is the law of libel and slander. No effort has been made to be exhaustive in giving the above examples. Users are reminded that ignorance of the law is not an excuse. Use of GSPL social media is conditional on the user's agreement to observe this policy. By continuing to use the application, the user indicates agreement to all requirements of this policy. Comments, posts and messages are welcome on GSPL social media sites, provided they do not contain: 

  • Obscene or racist content 
  • Personal attacks, insults, or threatening language 
  • Potentially libelous statements 
  • Plagiarized material 
  • Private, personal information published without consent 
  • Comments totally unrelated to the content of the forum 
  • Hyperlinks to material that is not directly related to the discussion 
  • Commercial promotions or spam

All social media sites affiliated with the Library will be regularly screened by library employees. All postings which contain any of the above will be immediately removed and the poster barred from posting any subsequent messages to Library social media sites.

By posting content, the user agrees to indemnify GSPL and its officers and employees from and against all liabilities, judgments, damages and costs (including attorney's fees) incurred by any of them which arise out of or are related to the posted content. Forums and messaging may not be used for commercial purposes or for organized political activity.

As with more traditional resources, the Library does not act in place of or in the absence of a parent. The Library is not responsible for enforcing any restrictions which a parent or guardian may place on a minor's use of this resource.

GSPL will never use information shared through its social media for commercial purposes nor will it share this information with third-parties. Personal data will be saved only to ensure service delivery and only within the existing legal framework. We will share personal data with other institutions only as required by law.

If any user does not agree to these terms, they are not to use the service, as violation of the terms can lead to legal liability.

Policy adopted May 23, 2013
Adapted from Ottawa Public Library Social Media Policy

Politique sur les médias sociaux

Object

On entend par médias sociaux les applications, sites ou comptes Web établis et entretenus par la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury (BPGS) pour soutenir un environnement dans lequel le personnel et les usagers de la bibliothèque peuvent échanger des opinions et des informations sur des thèmes ou des questions se rapportant à la bibliothèque.

 

Principes

Nous nous engageons à :

  • Répondre aux questions et aux problèmes aussitôt que possible;
  • Assurer dans toute la mesure du possible la précision, l’objectivité et l’impartialité des informations que nous communiquons;
  • Respecter la vie privée et l’anonymat des personnes avec lesquelles nous communiquons;
  • Respecter la liberté de parole et les divergences d’opinions tout en protégeant le personnel et les usagers contre des propos injurieux, agressifs ou autrement inappropriés;
  • Fournir des services accessibles et ouverts à tous.

Nous nous attendons à ce que les usagers de nos services de médias sociaux :

  • fassent preuve de politesse et de respect envers le personnel de la BPGS et les autres usagers;
  • respectent toutes les lois pertinentes, notamment le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario.

 

Politique

La Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury traite les médias sociaux en ligne de la même façon que ses autres outils d’information, conformément à sa mission d’enrichir la vie des personnes et l’esprit de la communauté en fournissant des services de bibliothèque de la plus haute qualité aux citoyens qui désirent lire, apprendre, enseigner et rêver.

Outre les règlements généraux qui s’appliquent à l’utilisation de la bibliothèque, la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury interdit l’utilisation de ses médias sociaux à toute fin qui contrevienne aux lois et aux règlements gouvernementaux ou qui entraîne une responsabilité civile de l’usager ou du conseil d’administration de la Bibliothèque envers qui que ce soit. Par exemple, le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario interdit certaines formes de discrimination et de harcèlement envers une personne ou un groupe, tandis que le Code criminel du Canada interdit la pornographie juvénile, l’obscénité, la littérature haineuse, la sédition et les informations favorisant l’usage illicite de drogues. Un exemple de responsabilité civile est la loi sur la diffamation. Ces quelques exemples ne constituent pas une liste exhaustive. Nous rappelons aux usagers que l’ignorance de la loi n’excuse personne. L’utilisation des médias sociaux de la BPGS suppose l’adhésion à la présente politique. En continuant d’utiliser l’application, l’usager indique son acceptation de toutes les exigences de la politique. Les commentaires, les affichages et les messages sont bienvenus sur les sites sociaux de la BPGS, pourvu qu’ils ne contiennent pas :

  • de contenu obscène ou raciste;
  • d’attaque personnelle, d’insulte ou de menace;
  • de déclaration potentiellement diffamatoire;
  • de texte plagié;
  • d’information privée ou personnelle publiée sans consentement;
  • de commentaire n’ayant pas rapport à un forum;
  • d’hyperlien vers des contenus sans lien direct avec une discussion en cours;
  • de promotion commerciale ou de pourriel.

Le personnel de la bibliothèque surveille régulièrement tous les sites de médias sociaux associés à la bibliothèque. Le personnel supprime immédiatement toute publication dont le contenu contrevient aux interdictions indiquées ci-dessus et empêche son auteur d’afficher tout message subséquent dans les sites de médias sociaux de la bibliothèque.

Du fait qu’il affiche du contenu, l’usager accepte d’indemniser la BPGS, ses administrateurs et son personnel de quelque responsabilité, jugement, dommage et frais que ce soit (y compris les honoraires de services juridiques) encourus par ces personnes à cause du contenu affiché ou de raisons connexes. Les forums et la messagerie ne doivent pas servir à des fins commerciales ou à une activité politique organisée.

Comme pour ses ressources plus traditionnelles, la bibliothèque n’agit pas à la place ou en l’absence d’un parent. La bibliothèque n’a pas la responsabilité d’assurer le respect des restrictions qu’un parent ou tuteur impose à un mineur qui utilise cette ressource.

La BPGS n’utilise jamais les informations échangées dans ses médias sociaux à des fins commerciales et elle ne les divulgue jamais à des tiers. Les informations personnelles conservées servent uniquement à la prestation du service en conformité avec le cadre juridique en vigueur. Nous communiquons vos données personnelles à d’autres organismes seulement si la loi l’exige.
Tout usager qui ne consent pas à ces conditions ne doit pas utiliser le service, car le manquement aux conditions peut entraîner une responsabilité juridique.

Adoptée le 23 May 2013
Adaptation de la Politique sur les médias sociaux de la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa