History of GSPL

Sudbury's continuous library history dates from 1912, however, a library did exist many years earlier. The tiny library operated in one room in the Johnson-Washburn block. Little is known of the library after 1897, but from scattered records remaining, it seems obvious that it withered away from lack of financial support.

Association Library

Miss McLean & Kay James holding sign: 50 years of library serviceThe second phase of library history in Sudbury was initiated in January 1912, by the Local Council of Women. A Library Committee, consisting of Mrs. Viola I. Fournier, Mrs. R. R. McKessock and Mrs. Robert Martin, was appointed. A petition was circulated among the townsfolk to secure local support for the project. A petition dated February 8, 1912, contains 26 names, and a later one, dated March 1912, with the names of 135 citizens willing to pledge amounts ranging from $1 to $50 for the library. An Association Library was opened on April 10, 1912, in one room in the Huron Chambers on Elm Street. It was still not a public library, since its members paid a fee, but it was the beginning of a library that was to flourish and grow with the community that sponsored it.

Moving Around

In 1917, it left its first home in the Huron Chambers for a new one on the second floor of the Post Office building. By that time readers had access to 900 books, and membership was free to any resident of the town. By 1925, the needs of a growing membership prompted the renting of an adjacent room at $12 a month. The library remained in the Post Office building until 1932 when it made its second move, this time to the second floor of the C.P.R. Telegraph building on Elgin Street. The library that had begun so proudly with 400 volumes now had more than 7,000. That the new quarters were being used to the maximum is evident from a suggestion in the minutes of 1932 "that the Juvenile section be closed in the evenings so that the chairs in the room can be used in the reading room". After ten years on Elgin Street, larger and more commodious accommodation was rented in the new McLeod building on Cedar Street.

A Permanent Home

colour photo of library in 1949In 1949 the crucial problem of a site for a library, and funds with which to erect it, were settled. A gift of a piece of property adjoining one owned by the Library Board on MacKenzie Street, was received from the W. E. Mason Foundation, and a plebiscite approved debentures for the construction of a library. The Library Board's problems were not yet over, for the lack of money dictated drastic reductions in the planned structure. When it seemed that the new library might open without furniture and very little shelving, members of the Library Board and a few staunch supporters carried on a zealous campaign for furnishings.

Official Opening

Forty years of effort were finally crowned with success on September 24, 1952, when the city's first library building was officially opened. In 1977, a decision was made to split the Reference and Adult Services into two physically and organizationally separate sections, with the Reference Department moving to Civic Square.

colour photo of main library in 1998

The Main Library was completely renovated in 1998, and saw the return of the Reference department back to the Main Library.

In 1961, the Bookmobile service was launched. In 1984, the Bookmobile was taken off the road.

Expansion

In 1966, the W. C. Sinclair branch was opened in the New Sudbury Shopping Centre, and in 1996, this branch moved to its newly constructed building on Lasalle Boulevard. In 1973, the Copper Cliff Library became a branch of the Sudbury system when regional government was introduced, and the Regency Mall branch opened to provide library services to the south end of the City. The Regency Mall branch moved to the Cedar Pointe Mall in 1983 and then in 1992 across the street to 1991 Regent Street South, and in 2002 the Library bought the building that houses the South Library.

Amalgamation

With the introduction of amalgamation in the City of Greater Sudbury, the library system grew from four locations to fourteen locations in the year 2000. The citizens of Greater Sudbury had access to library services and programs at the following library locations: Main, Azilda, Capreol, Chelmsford, Coniston, Copper Cliff, Dowling, Garson, Levack-Onaping, Lively, New Sudbury, South, Lively, Valley East and Walden West. Unfortunately, in March 2003, the Walden West branch closed its doors for good. Today, the Greater Sudbury Public Library services an area approximately 3,600 square kilometers and a population estimated at 165,242.

Chief Librarians of Greater Sudbury Public Library

Name:

Dates:

Miss Agnes Thomson

1912 - 1937

Miss Charlotte Douglas

1937 - 1946

Miss Isobel McLean

1946 - 1965

Mr. Peter Hallsworth

1966 - 1992

Ms. Marian Ridge

1992 - 1998

Ms. Caroline Hallsworth

1998 - 2000

Mr. Ron Henderson

2000 - present

Historique de la Bibliothèque

L'histoire ininterrompue de la Bibliothèque de Sudbury date de 1912; toutefois, il y avait une bibliothèque bien des années auparavant. La minuscule bibliothèque est située dans une salle de l'édifice Johnson-Washburn. On sait très peu de choses au sujet de la bibliothèque après 1897, mais selon les renseignements qu'on a pu recueillir, elle a vraisemblablement périclité en raison d'un manque d'appui financier. 

Une bibliothèque associative

Mlle McLean et Kay James tiennent un signe « 50 ans de service »La deuxième étape de l'histoire de la bibliothèque à Sudbury débute en janvier 1912, grâce aux efforts du conseil local des femmes. On désigne un Comité de la bibliothèque, auquel siègent Mme Viola I. Fournier, Mme R. R. McKessock et Mme Robert Martin.  On fait circuler une pétition parmi les résidents en vue d'obtenir leur soutien à l'égard du projet. Une pétition datée du 8 février 1912 porte 26 noms, et une deuxième, datée de mars 1912, compte les noms de 135 citoyens, chacun prêt à faire un don de 1 $ à 50 $ à l'appui de la bibliothèque. Le 10 avril 1912, une bibliothèque associative ouvre ses portes dans les Huron Chambers, rue Elm. Ce n'est toujours pas une bibliothèque publique puisque ses membres paient un droit d'adhésion; toutefois, cela marque la naissance d'une bibliothèque qui s'épanouira et croîtra de pair avec la communauté qui la soutient. 

Au fil des emplacements

La petite bibliothèque changera d'emplacement deux fois. En 1917, on la déménage des Huron Chambers au deuxième étage de l'édifice du bureau de poste. Les lecteurs ont maintenant 900 livres à leur disposition et l'adhésion est gratuite pour tous les résidents de la localité. En 1925, on loue une salle adjacente, au coût de 12 $ par mois, pour répondre aux besoins des membres dont le nombre ne cesse de croître. La bibliothèque demeure dans l'édifice du bureau de poste jusqu'en 1932; c'est alors qu'on la transfère au deuxième étage du centre télégraphique du C.P.R., rue Elgin. La bibliothèque, qui à ses débuts était fière de ses 400 volumes, en compte maintenant 7 000. De toute évidence, on utilise la bibliothèque au maximum : un procès-verbal de 1932 contient une suggestion selon laquelle « la section pour les jeunes devrait être fermée en soirée afin qu'on puisse se servir des chaises qui s'y trouvent pour la salle de lecture ». Au bout de dix ans, la bibliothèque change de nouveau d'emplacement. Cette fois, on loue des locaux plus spacieux dans le nouvel édifice McLeod, rue Cedar. 

Chez soi pour de bon

Photo de la Bibliothèque centrale en 1949En 1949, on règle le problème critique de trouver l'emplacement de la bibliothèque et les fonds nécessaires à la construction de celle-ci. La fondation W. E. Mason fait don d'un terrain contigu à la propriété du Conseil de la Bibliothèque, rue MacKenzie. En outre, on approuve par un vote la vente d'obligations pour la construction d'une bibliothèque. Or, les problèmes du Conseil ne sont pas tous réglés, car le manque de financement exige que l'on change radicalement la structure prévue de la bibliothèque. Il semble que la nouvelle bibliothèque pourrait n'avoir aucun meuble et très peu de tablettes; les membres du Conseil et quelques partisans dévoués mènent donc une
campagne ardente pour obtenir un ameublement.

Ouverture officielle

Les efforts déployés durant quarante ans portent finalement leurs fruits le 24 septembre 1952; c'est alors qu'a lieu à Sudbury l'ouverture officielle du premier édifice de la bibliothèque. En 1977, on décide de séparer le service de référence du service aux adultes, sur les plans physique de même qu'organisationnel, en transférant le service de référence au Centre civique.

En 1998, on rénove la succursale Centrale de la Bibliothèque de fond en comble puis on y installe de nouveau la section de référence.

En 1961, on lance le Bibliobus; il est mis hors service en 1984.

Expansion de la BPGS

Photo de la Bibliothèque centrale en 1998

En 1966, on ouvre la succursale W. C. Sinclair dans le Centre commercial du Nouveau-Sudbury. La succursale déménage dans son nouvel édifice, boulevard Lasalle, en 1996. La bibliothèque de Copper Cliff devient une succursale du réseau sudburois lorsqu'on met en ?uvre le gouvernement régional en 1973, et la succursale du Regency Mall ouvre ses portes afin de fournir des services bibliothécaires dans le sud de la ville. Cette succursale est transférée du Regency Mall au Cedar Pointe Mall en 1983, puis au 1991, rue Regent Sud, en 1992. En 2002, la Bibliothèque achète le bâtiment dans lequel est situé actuellement la succursale Sud.

Quand la Ville du Grand Sudbury naît d'une fusion en 2000, le nombre de succursales faisant partie du réseau de bibliothèques passe de quatre à quatorze. Les résidents du Grand Sudbury peuvent obtenir des services et des programmes de bibliothèque aux endroits suivants : succursale centrale, Azilda, Capreol, Chelmsford, Coniston, Copper Cliff, Dowling, Garson, Levack/Onaping, Lively, Nouveau-Sudbury, Sud, Valley East et Walden Ouest. Malheureusement, en mars 2003, la succursale de Walden Ouest a fermé ses portes de façon définitive.  Aujourd'hui, la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury dessert une région d'environ 3 600 kilomètres carrés et une population estimative de 165 242.  

Les Bibliothécaires en chef

Nom:

Dates:

Mlle. Agnes Thomson

1912 - 1937

Mlle. Charlotte Douglas

1937 - 1946

Mlle. Isobel McLean

1946 - 1965

M. Peter Hallsworth

1966 - 1992

Mlle. Marian Ridge

1992 - 1998

Mme. Caroline Hallsworth

1998 - 2000

M. Ron Henderson

De 2000 à nos jours