Materials Selection Policy

The purpose of this policy is to inform the public as to the principles and guidelines upon which decisions about the collection are made, to define responsibility for selection and de-selection and to guide staff in the development of collections that supports the mission and vision of Greater Sudbury Public Library.

The Library's goal in the selection of materials is to serve cultural, recreational, educational and informational needs of the community and to assess current unfilled requirements to anticipate future needs.

Scope:

The Materials Selection Policy applies to all formats including print, non-print, and electronic materials for adult, teens and children.

Application:

This policy applies to any Library staff or organization that undertakes the selection or withdrawal of materials for the Library's collections and to all the Library staff involved with accepting and evaluating gifts to the branch collections.

Context for the Policy:

The selection of library materials for Greater Sudbury Public Library is driven by principles defined in the Library's Mission Statement. In adopting this policy, the Library Board endorses the Canadian Federation of Library Associations' Statement on Intellectual Freedom and Libraries and the Ontario Library Association's Statement on the Intellectual Rights of the Individual, Position on Children's Rights in the Public Library and the Position on Teen's Rights in the Public Library.

The Library Board, in establishing this Materials Selection Policy, was cognizant of Section 2(b) of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms which guarantees everyone the freedom of thought, belief, opinion and expression, including freedom of the press and other media of communication.

Greater Sudbury Public Library provides equitable access to its extensive collections through a multi-tiered service delivery model which rationalizes the location, scope and focus of collections. The library materials budget is maximized through coordinated and controlled expenditure.

Responsibility for Selection Activities:

While overall responsibility for library collections rests with the Director of Libraries and Citizen Services, the responsibility for selection of materials is vested in the office of the Manager of Library and Heritage Resources which delegates this professional activity to qualified and knowledgeable resource staff.

Non-Endorsement of Content Statement:

Selection of an item for a library collection does not constitute endorsement by Greater Sudbury Public Library of either the content or viewpoint expressed in that item.

Access to Collections:

Except where limited by law, children are entitled to borrowing privileges and open and ready access to materials and facilities provided by Greater Sudbury Public Library. Parents, legal guardians or caregiver assigned are responsible for monitoring and limiting the use of library materials by their children, except in the case of "R" rated content where the Library will monitor to 18 years of age.

Greater Sudbury Public Library may control use of any collection material in order to protect items deemed susceptible to theft or damage by users or to ensure the widest possible use of materials by library customers.

Partnership collections may impose restricted access by the very nature of their scope; i.e. Ontario Genealogical Society Sudbury Chapter collection or Centre of Equitable Library Access (CELA).

The Library does not mark selected materials in order to indicate approval or disapproval of item contents or attempt to censor information contained in selected items.

Collection Development Goals:

Library materials in both official languages are selected to meet intellectual, educational and recreational needs for information by providing materials that:

  • Support lifelong learning;
  • Ensure easy and open access to information;
  • Support a physically, intellectually, socially and ecologically healthy community;
  • Introduce and develop understanding of our world;
  • Amaze, amuse and create a sense of wonder;
  • Entertain library users all of whom have unique reading, viewing and listening interests.

Selection Criteria:

Defined below are criteria which will be used for the development of library collections.

  • Availability of funds and space;
  • Relation to existing collections and other material on the subject;
  • Availability of material in other libraries in the community;
  • Interests and cultural composition of the community;
  • Popular demand by the public and current trends;
  • Quality of writing and/or visual art;
  • Reputation, skill, competence and purpose of the originator of the work;
  • Comprehensiveness and depth of treatment;
  • Clarity, accuracy and logic of presentation;
  • Balance of viewpoints in the collection;
  • Timeliness or permanence of the work, classics in the subject area or genre;
  • Suitability of physical form for library use;
  • Canadian and local content.

The decision to purchase material which might be objectionable to some people because of language, subject matter or moral attitude will be guided by qualified reviews and based on an assessment of the author's general intent.

The Library recognizes the purposes and resources of other information agencies in the City of Greater Sudbury and does not needlessly duplicate materials.

Library materials will be purchased in both English and French using a formula based on demographics and circulation which reflects community needs and the availability of materials.

Exclusions From Selection:

Greater Sudbury Public Library does not keep, acquire or purchase material that violates the Criminal Code definitions of "obscene material", "hate propaganda" or "seditious material" as defined by case law interpreting those provisions, including the application of The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

No material will be excluded from selection solely because of the "race, ancestry, place of origin, colour, ethnic origin, citizenship, creed, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, marital status, receipt of public assistance, political affiliation, disability, level of literacy, language and/or socio-economic status" of the creator of the work.

No materials are excluded from selection for library collections solely because they may come into the possession of a child.

Textbooks and curriculum-related works are not purchased unless they are considered useful to the general reader as an introduction to a subject, are the only source of information, or because their content is considered essential to a library collection.

Greater Sudbury Public Library does not buy "infomercials", i.e. items of a mainly promotional nature, for circulation.

Gifts and Donations:

The Library welcomes gifts of materials from individuals or groups. The same criteria and guidelines contained in the materials selection policy are used to evaluate gifts. It is understood that gifts are freely given without conditions attached, unless specifically negotiated beforehand. If not added to the collection, donated materials will be disposed of by staff in the same way as other materials removed from the collection.

New Format:

Careful consideration is given to the introduction of new formats to Greater Sudbury Public Library collections. Budget considerations, community needs and the probable impact on existing resources are all reviewed before items are selected and introduced to collections in a new format.

The selection of material in any new format may result in the library's decision to retire specific items or material formats from its collections in order to responsibly accommodate trends in user demands and/or changes in technology.

De-Selection and Collection Maintenance:

Materials are regularly assessed for their condition, accuracy, currency, performance within the context of the library collection in which they are located and relevance to library users. The withdrawal of materials from any collection is a formal process conducted by knowledgeable staff as a necessary means to maintain collection vitality, size and scope. The Library actively and continuously monitors the performance of the collection to balance both immediate demand and the long-term user needs.

Professional staff use their judgement and experience to withdraw the following from the collection:

  • Materials whose content is out-of-date and therefore potentially misleading;
  • Earlier editions of titles when more recent editions have been received;
  • Materials which are no longer of interest, as reflected in circulation history;
  • Materials that are damaged or in poor physical condition.
Materials of local historical importance and interest are retained when the content has enduring worth to the community.

Materials removed from the collection are disposed by staff in one of the ways:
  • Placed in the Library's used book sales;
  • Offered to Better World Books, an organization which supports literacy by selling used books online. The Library receives a percentage of the funds raised which are returned to the  materials budget;
  • Recycled.

Recommendations for Purchase:

The Library welcomes suggestions from the public of titles to add to the collection. These recommendations are considered using the same criteria for evaluation of materials outlined above.

Inter-Library Loan Services:

Unavailable materials can be requested by library customers from other library systems by using Inter-Library Loan services. Fees for the service occasionally apply. Application for inter-library loan service can be made at any library branch.

Reconsideration of Materials:

The Library Board recognizes the right of an individual or group to express opposition to an item in the collection. The content or manner of expressing ideas in material that is purposely selected to fill the needs of some library users, may, on occasion, be considered to be offensive by other library users. The Library recognizes the right of any individual or group to reject library material for personal use, but does not accord to any individual or group the right to restrict the freedom of others to make use of that same material.

Library users who object to materials located in a library collection are asked to complete a Request for Reconsideration of Library Materials form.

Decisions made about challenged materials will be communicated to the originators of the requests following completion of a formal staff review. Should an individual wish to pursue the challenge further, they may appeal to the Greater Sudbury Public Library Board.

Some of the Library's digital content is provided using third-party vendors. The Library subscribes to services in which third-party vendors, not Library staff, determines the specific titles or materials made available through the service. In these circumstances, the Library is unable to reconsider materials that Library users object to, but may inform the third-party vendor of user concerns and/or take these concerns into consideration in determining whether to continue using the vendor.

Approval Date: April 5, 2005; September 27, 2018
Effective Date: April 5, 2005
Revised Dates: April 18, 2018
Review Date: April 2021

L'Enrichissement des ressources documentaires

Cette politique sert à présenter au public les principes et les lignes directrices des décisions sur le développement des collections, à définir les responsabilités en matière de sélection et de retrait du contenu des collections et à aider le personnel à développer des collections qui soutiennent la mission et la vision de la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury.

La Bibliothèque choisit le matériel à inclure dans ses collections en tâchant de satisfaire les besoins culturels, récréatifs, éducationnels et informationnels de la communauté et d'évaluer les besoins non satisfaits à présent pour pouvoir répondre aux demandes futures.

Portée

La Politique de développement des collections vise tous les formats de publication, y compris les documents textuels, non textuels ou électroniques à l'intention des adultes, des adolescents et des enfants.

Applicabilité

Cette politique s'applique au personnel et à tout organisme qui s'occupent d'ajouter ou d'enlever des documents aux collections de la bibliothèque et au personnel qui reçoit et évalue les dons aux collections des succursales de la bibliothèque.

Contexte de la politique

La sélection des documents à inclure dans la collection de la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury respecte les principes établis dans son énoncé de mission. Par l'adoption de la présente politique, le conseil d'administration de la Bibliothèque appuie la Déclaration sur la liberté intellectuelle de les bibliothèques de la Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques, la déclarationa de l'Association des bibliothèque de l'Ontario sur les droits intellectuels de la personne et les énoncés de position de cette association sur les droits des enfants à la bibliothèque publique et les droits des adolescents à la bibliothèque publique.

Le conseil d'administration de la Bibliothèque a établi sa Politique sur le développement des collections en tenant compte de l'article 2(b) de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, qui garantit à chacun la liberté de pensée, de croyance, d'opinion et d'expression, y compris la liberté de la presse et des autres moyens de communication.

La Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury assure l'accès équitable à ses nombreuses ressources documentaires grâce à un modèle de prestation de services à plusieurs paliers qui rationalise le lieu de conservation, l'envergure et l'orientation des collections. La Bibliothèque maximise son budget d'acquisition en coordonnant et en contrôlant les dépenses.

Non-approbation du contenu des documents

L'inclusion d'un document dans la collection de la bibliothèque ne signifie pas que la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury approuve le contenu ou le point de vue exprimé dans le document.

Accès aux collection

Sauf si la loi l'interdit, les enfants ont droit au prêt de documents et à l'accès libre et immédiat aux documents et aux installations de la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury. Il incombe aux parents, aux tuteurs ou aux aidants responsables de surveiller et de limiter l'utilisation qu'en font les enfants. Seuls les documents cotés « R » font exception; la Bibliothèque en refuse l'accès aux personnes de moins de 18 ans.

La Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury peut limiter l'accès à tout élément de la collection pour protéger les articles susceptibles d'être volés ou endommagés ou pour les rendre accessibles au plus grand nombre de clients possible.

La Bibliothèque peut restreindre l'accès aux collections régies par un partenariat en raison de la nature même de la colletion, p. ex., la collection de la section sudburoise de la Société généalogique de l'Ontario ou la collection du Centre d'accès équitable aux bibliothèques.

La Bibliothèque ne marque aucun document de manière à indiquer qu'elle approuve ou désapprouve du contenu ou a à tenter de censurer le contenu.

Buts du développement des collections

La Bibliothèque choisit ses documents dans les deux langues officielles de façon à r.pondre aux besoins intellectuels, éducationnels et récréatifs des utilisateurs grâce à des documents qui :

  • soutiennent l'éducation permanente;
  • assurent l'accès facile, libre et immédiat aux informations;
  • favorisent la santé physique, intellectuelle, sociale et écologique de la communauté;
  • éveillent et approfondissent la connaissance du monde;
  • impressionnent, amusent et émerveillent;
  • plaisent aux utilisateurs en rejoignant leurs intérêts particuliers en matière de lecture, de visionnement et d'écoute.

Critères de sélection

Ces critères orientent le développement des collections de la Bibliothèque :
  • L'argent et l'espace disponibles
  • Le rapport avec les collections actuelles et les autres documents sur un sujet donné
  • Les documents disponibles dans d'autre bibliothèques de la communauté
  • Les intérêts de la communauté et son profil culturel
  • La demande générale et les tendances actuelles
  • La qualité de l'écriture et/ou de l'art visuel
  • La réputation, l'habileté, compétences et les intentions du créateur de l'œuvre
  • L'étendue et la profondeur du traitement du sujet
  • La clarté, la précision et l'organisation du propos
  • L'équilibre des points de vue présentés dans la collection
  • L'actualité ou la permanence de l'œuvre; les classiques du sujet ou du genre
  • La commodité du support du document aux fins de l'utilisation en bibliothèque
  • Le contenu canadien et local.

La decision d'acquérir du matériel dont le langage, la matière ou l'attitude morale serait offensant pour certaines personnes se fonde sur des évaluations compétentes et tient compte de l'intention générale de l'auteur.

La Bibliothèque reconnaît les mandats et les ressources d'autre organisme fournisseurs d'informations dans la Ville du Grand Sudbury et évite d'acquérir inutilement des documents accessibles ailleurs.

La Bibliothèque acquiert des documents en anglais et en français selon une formule qui tient compte du profil démographique de la communauté, des besoins de la communauté et de la disponibilité des documents.

Documents exclus de la collection

La Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury refuse de conserver, d'acquérir ou d'acheter pas des documents qui constituent du matériel obscène , de la propagande haineuse ou des propos séditieux selon les définitions qu'en donne le Code criminel et leur interprétation en droit jurisprudentiel, y compris les jugements en application de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

La Bilbiothèque n'exclut aucun document de sa collection uniquement à cause de la race, des antécédents familiaux, du lieu d'origine, de la couleur de la peau, de l'origine ethnique, de la citoyenneté, des croyances, du sexe, de l'orientation sexuelle, de l'identité sexuelle, de l'âge, de l'état matrimonial, du recours à l'aide sociale, de l'affiliation politique, de l'incapacité, du niveau de littératie, de la langue  et/ou de la situation socioéconomique du créateur de l'œuvre.

La Bibliothèque n'exclut aucun document de sa collection uniquement pour prévenir le risque du'un enfant y ait accès. 

La Bibliothèque n'achète pas de manuels scolaires ou de textes associés à un curriculum sauf s'ils sont jugés utiles pour présenter un sujet à un public général, s'ils sont la seule source de l'information en questions ou si le contenu est jugé essentiel à une des collections de la bibliothèque.

La Bibliothèque n'achète pas de publireportages, c'est-à-dire des documents à visée essentiellement publicitaire, dans l'intention de les prêter.

Cadeaux et dons

La Bibliothèque accepte les dons de documents provenant de personnes ou de groupes. Les critères et les directrices de la politique sur le développement des collections servent à l'évaluation des dons. Tout don doit être consenti libremnet et ne comporter aucune condition, sauf par entente négociée préalablement.

Si les documents donnés n sont pas ajoutés à la collection, le personnel en dispose comme il dispose des autres documents retirés de la collection.

Nouveaux formats

La Bibliothèque étudie attentivement toute décision d'introduire de nouveaux formats dans ses collections. Les moyens budgétaires, les besoins de la communauté et l'impact probable sur les ressources existantes sont pris en considération avant de choisir d'inclure dans une collection des documents de format nouveau.

La décision d'inclure des documents de format nouveau pourrait entraîner la décision d'éliminer d'autres documents ou formats des collections de la bibliothèque afin de s'adapter de façon responsable aux tendances de la demade des utilisateurs ou de l'évolution de la technologie.

Élimination de documents et gestion de la collection

La Bibliothèque évalue régulièrement l'état, l'exactitude, l'actualité et le rendement des documents dans la contexte de la collection dont ils font partie et selon leur pertinence pour les utilisateurs. L'élimination de documents est un processus formel mené par un personnel compétent en vue d'assurer la vitalité, la taille et la portée d'une collection. La Bibliothèque surveille activement et continuellement le rendement de la collection pour qu'elle corresponde à la demande actuelle et aux besoins à long terme des utilisateurs.

Le personnel compétent exerce son jugement professionnel et s'appuie sur son expérience pour retirer les éléments suivants de la collection :

  • Les documents dont le contenu vieilli peut induire en erreur;
  • Les éditions antérieures d'un titre après l'obtention d'une édition plus récente;
  • Les documents qui ne suscitent plus d'intérêt, comme en témoigne le registre des prêts;
  • Les documents abîmés ou en mauvais état.
Les documents d'intérêt ou d'importance historique locale sont conservés si leur contenu a une valeur durable pour la communauté.

Les personnel dispose des documents retirés de la collection d'une de ces façons :

  • dans les ventes de livres usagés de la bibliothèque;
  • en les offrant à Better World Books, un organisme de promotion de la littératie qui vend des livres usagés en ligne. La Bibliothèque reçoit un pourcentage des recettes et le verse au budget d'acquisition.
  • en les recyclant.

Titres suggérés par les utilisateurs

La Bibliothèque invite les utilisateurs de la bibliothèque à soumettre leurs suggestions de titres à ajouter à la collection. Les critères d'évaluation des documents énoncés ci-dessus s'appliquent aussi à l'examen de ces recommandations.

Service de prêts entre bibliothèques

Les utilisateurs peuvent demander à la Bibliothèque d'obtenir des documents non disponibles dans sa collection par le biais du services de prêt entre bibliothèques. Des frais s'appliquent parfois à ce service.  On peut faire une demande de prêt entre bibliothèques dans toute succursale de la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury.

Réexamen des documents de la bibliothèque

Le conseil d'administration de la Bibliothèque reconnaît aux personnes ou aux groupes le droit d'exprimer leur opposition à la présence d'un titre dans sa collection. Il peut arriver que certains utilisateurs s'offusquent du fait que la collection contient un document choisi sciemment pour répondre aux besoins d'autres utilisateurs. La Bibliothèque reconnaît à quiconque le droit de ne pas utiliser certains de ses documents, mais elle ne reconnaît à aucune personne ou à aucun groupe le droit de limiter la liberté d'accès à ces documents.

Les utilisateurs de la bibliothèque qui s'opposent à la présence d'un document dans la collection de la bibliothèque peuvent remplir un formulaire de demande de réexamen des documents de la bibliothèque.

À la suite d'un examen formel mené par son personnel, la Bibliothèque communiquera sa décision sur les documents contestés à l'auteur de la demande de réexamen. Au besoin, cette décision peut être portée en appel devant le conseil d'administration de la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury.

Certains documents numériques de la bibliothèque sont fournis par des fournisseurs indépendants. La Bibliothèque s'abonne à des services qui donnent accès à des titres ou à des documents qui sont choisis par des fournisseurs indépendants et non par son propre personnel. Dans ce cas, la Bibliothèque ne peut pas réexaminer les documents contestés, mais elle peut communiquer au fournisseur les objections exprimées par ses utilisateurs et/ou prendre ces objections en considération pour déterminer si elle continuera de faire affaire avec le fournisseur.

Adoptée: le 5 avril 2005; le 27 septembre 2018
Mise en vigueur :  le 5 avril 2005
Révisée : le 18 avril 2018
Prochaine révision : avril 2021