Getting Started Guide

Starting Out

  • The best place to start tracing your family genealogy is with yourself. Write down your name, birth date, place of birth, and where and when you were baptized. If you have siblings, write down the same information regarding them.
  • Find out your parents' names (including mother's maiden name), birth dates, places of birth, where and when they were baptized, where and when they were married (include the priest and any witnesses). Also try to find out if they had any children who predeceased them (that you are unaware of).
  • Grandparents' names (including grandmother's maiden name), birth dates, places of birth, where and when they were baptized, where and when they were married (include the priest and any witnesses). Try to find out if they had any children who predeceased them.
  • Continue this pattern for all of your ancestors, including aunts and uncles, great grandparents, etc.

Some good sources of genealogical information include:

  • Living relatives:

Ask them for any information that they can give you, including     nicknames, birth dates and locations, marriage dates and locations, death dates and locations, parents' and grandparents' names, where they lived as children, country / province / territory / state / city that their parents and grandparents originated from, when they or their parents or grandparents came to this location.

  • Your home / relatives homes:

Look for hope chests, letters, photographs, baby books, important papers (birth, marriage, or death certificates), funeral books, and greeting cards (these will sometimes give you information on who was alive at that time and spouse's names).

  • Library:

At Greater Sudbury Public Library, we provide access to free online genealogical databases. The Library also subscribes to PRDH (Programme de recherche en démographie historique). You may search the indexes of the National Archives of Canada and the Archives of Ontario and order birth, marriage, death, ship, immigration, and census records for information on your ancestors. We have some church and cemetery records for Sudbury and the surrounding area, local newspapers on microfilm (search these for obituaries, and wedding and birth announcements), genealogical dictionaries, family history indexes, and experienced staff who are able to assist you in beginning your search (time permitting).

  • Court Records:

Records created by the various levels of courts throughout Ontario, including court proceeding, criminal indictment files, wills and divorces are available through the Archives of Ontario.

  • Land Records:

Documents relating to the grant, sale, or lease of Crown Lands are available through the Archives of Ontario.

  • Cemeteries:

Headstones often give important information that you may not have been able to locate elsewhere, such as birth dates, death dates, spouse and children's names, and sometimes places of origin.

  • Obituaries:

These are useful not only for birth and death dates, but for information about the deceased person's family and biographical data.

  • Census:

Start with the last available census and work backwards. You can use the census to find out names, occupations, naturalization and year of arrival information, number of children, and birth dates.

  • Ship Records:

These are useful in discovering where your ancestors originated from, family members who came with them, arrival dates, and the number of children in the family.

  • Military / Veteran's Records:

These can give you service and medical records (especially in the U.S.), marriage and death information, birth dates of veteran and any children.

  • Church Records:

Look for marriage records and membership records (for family information).

  • Naturalization Records:

These can give you spouse and children's names, birth dates and locations, and country of origin.

  • Yearbooks, school records, report cards, alumni lists, scrapbooks, letters, family bibles, diaries, cookbooks:

These are all helpful when tracing female ancestors.

  • City directories:

Look for information on spouse, occupation, and address.

  • Genealogical Databases:

Information on thousands of names and families are contained in databases available on the Internet or through Greater Sudbury Public Library. Links to these databases are provided on this website. Information includes available birth, marriage, and death dates, spouse, children's, and parents' names, and location of the life event.

Pour débuter

  • Pour entreprendre des recherches généalogiques sur votre famille, commencez par vous-méme. Notez vos nom, date et lieu de naissance ainsi que le lieu et la date de votre baptême. Si vous avez des frères et des soeurs, notez les mêmes renseignements à leur sujet.
  • Trouvez les noms de vos parents (y compris le nom de jeune fille de votre mère), le lieu et la date de leur naissance, le lieu et la date de leur baptême, le lieu et la date de leur mariage (y compris le nom du prêtre et des têmoins). Essayez également de savoir s'ils ont eu des enfants qui sont décédés avant eux (dont vous ignoriez l'existence).
  • Trouvez les noms de vos grands-parents (y compris le nom de jeune fille de vos grands-mères), le lieu et la date de leur naissance, le lieu et la date de leur baptême, le lieu et la date de leur mariage (y compris le nom du prêtre et des témoins). Essayez également de savoir s'ils ont eu des enfants qui sont décédés avant eux.
  • Faites les mêmes recherches pour tous vos ancêtres, y compris vos oncles et vos tantes, vos arrière-grands-parents, etc.

Voici quelques excellentes sources de renseignements généalogiques :

  • Parenté vivante :

Demandez-lui de vous faire part de tout ce qu'elle sait, y compris les surnoms, les dates et lieux de naissance, de mariage, de décès, les noms des parents et des grands-parents, les endroits où ils ont vécu dans leur enfance, le pays, la province, le territoire, l'état ou la ville d'origine des parents et des grands-parents, la date à laquelle la famille est arrivée dans la région.

  • Votre domicile / les domiciles de votre parenté :

Cherchez des coffres de mariage, des lettres, des photos, des livres de bébé, des documents importants (certificats de naissance, de mariage ou de décès), des livres de funérailles ou des cartes de souhaits (on y apprend parfois qui était vivant à l'époque ainsi que le nom des conjoints).

  • Bibliothèque :

A la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury, vous pouvez consulter gratuitement des bases de données généalogiques en ligne. La Bibliothèque est abonnée aux banques de données du Programme de recherche en démographie historique (PRDH). Vous pouvez chercher dans les index des Archives nationales du Canada et des Archives de l'Ontario et commander des registres de naissance, de mariage, de décès, d'immigration ainsi que les listes de passager de navires et les données de recensement pour obtenir des renseignements sur vos ancêtres. Nous disposons de certaines archives d'églises et de relevés de cimetière pour Sudbury et la région, de journaux locaux sur microfilm (cherchez dans les nécrologies et les annonces de naissance et de mariage), de dictionnaires généalogiques, d'index d'histoires des familles; si le temps le permet, notre personnel chevronné peut vous aider à amorcer vos recherches. Demandez à consulter l'Info-guide pour la généalogie créé par le personnel de la Bibliothèque; vous y trouverez la liste des ressources disponibles à la Bibliothèque.

  • Archives judiciaires :

Par l'entremise des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, vous pouvez consulter les archives crées par les divers tribunaux de l'Ontario, y compris les procédures judiciaires, les actes d'accusation en cour criminelle, les testaments et les divorces.

  • Titres de propriété :

Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario détiennent la documentation concernant la concession, la vente ou la location de terres de la Couronne.

  • Cimetières :

Les pierres tombales sont souvent une précieuse source de renseignements que vous n'avez peut-être pas trouvés ailleurs, qu'il s'agisse de dates de naissance ou de décès, du nom d'un conjoint ou des enfants, ou parfois, de lieux d'origine.

  • Nécrologies :

Elles sont précieuses non seulement pour les dates de naissance et de décès mais aussi pour de l'information sur la famille de la personne décédée et des renseignements biographiques.

  • Recensements :

Commencez vos recherches en consultant le plus récent recensement nominatif disponible puis retournez en arrière. En plus des noms, les données de recensements comprennent le métier, l'année d'arrivée et puis de naturalisation d'une personne, le nombre de ses enfants et leurs dates de naissance.

  • Listes de passagers des navires :

Ces listes sont utiles pour découvrir le lieu d'origine de vos ancêtres, la date de leur arrivée et le nombre d'enfants qu'ils avaient.

  • Archives militaires / dossiers d'anciens combattants :

Vous pouvez y trouver des renseignements sur les années de service militaire et les dossiers médicaux (surtout aux États-Unis), les mariages et les décès, les dates de naissance des anciens combattants et de leurs enfants.

  • Archives d'églises :

Cherchez des dossiers de mariages et des registres d'adhésion (pour y obtenir des renseignements sur les familles).

  • Archives relatives à la naturalisation :

Vous pouvez y trouver le nom d'un conjoint ou des enfants, leur date et leur lieu de naissance ainsi que leur pays d'origine.

  • Albums des promotions, registres scolaires, bulletins scolaires, listes d'anciens, albums de coupures, lettres, bibles de familles, journaux intimes, livres de recettes :

ils sont utiles quand on veut retracer une ancêtre.

  • Répertoires des villes :

Cherchez des renseignements sur un conjoint, son métier ou son adresse.

  • Banques de données généalogiques :

Via Internet ou la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury vous pouvez trouver des renseignements sur des milliers de noms et de familles dans diverses banques de données. Ce site fournit des liens vers ces banques. Les renseignements comprennent les dates et lieux de naissance, de mariage et de décès, le nom du conjoint, des enfants et des parents.