Greater Sudbury Memories logo

Greater Sudbury Memories

Historical images of SudburyThe Great Sudbury Public Library, in partnership with the Greater Sudbury Heritage Museum, is creating a storehouse for Greater Sudbury's memories, an online project designed to bring the memories of Sudbury together, to share and preserve for generations to come.

Together, the Library and Museums are building a map of the Sudbury area populated with audio and video interviews that reflect times past, allowing the public to interact with real stories of life in our community.

This project has a dedicated webpage ( that brings together video and audio interviews, historical photographs, and textual content. Each entry is placed on a map of Greater Sudbury, providing a sense of Greater Sudbury's historical geography as well as the relationship between event's in the area's past.

Visit the Greater Sudbury Memories website.

How does it work?

If you have a story to tell, contact Local History and Archival Librarian, Kristen Bertrand at the Greater Sudbury Public Library and she will be happy to discuss the program with you.

Interview sessions are not intended to exceed an hour in length.

Participants are encouraged to bring photos, letters, postcards, or other memorabilia to the session that provide context to the story.

Library staff reserves the right to post the interview in whole or in part in consultation with the participants.

What kinds of stories does it have?

Greater Sudbury Memories captures stories, large or small, that reflect the diverse nature of our community, culture, and history highlighting influences and events of individuals, local organizations, business and industry that have shaped the city of Sudbury and its people.

What will happen to the stories?

The stories will be posted online and be connected to a map of Greater Sudbury ( The original recordings will be kept in storage at the Library.

For more information please contact:
Kristen Bertrand
Local History & Archival Librarian
705-673-1155 extension 4780

Souvenirs du Grand Sudbury

Souvenirs du Grand Sudbury

Photographies de l'histoire de SudburyLa Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury, en partenariat avec les musées du patrimoine du Grand Sudbury, met sur pied un entrepôt de Souvenirs du Grand Sudbury. Ce projet en ligne vise à rassembler les souvenirs de Sudbury en un endroit où l’on peut se les échanger et les préserver pour les générations à venir.

Ensemble, la bibliothèque et les musées produisent une carte de la région de Sudbury dans laquelle l’on retrouve des entrevues audio et vidéo qui évoquent les temps passés et qui permettent au public d’interagir avec des témoignages authentiques de la vie dans notre communauté.

 

 

Sudbury Memories: Introduction from GSPL on Vimeo.*

* Disponible en anglais seulement 

Comment fonctionne le projet?

Si vous avez une histoire à raconter, communiquez avec la bibliothécaire responsable de l’histoire locale et des archives, Kristen Bertrand, à la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury et elle se fera un plaisir de vous expliquer la démarche.

Les séances d’entrevue ne devraient généralement pas prendre plus d’une heure.

On encourage les participants et les participantes à apporter à la séance des photos, des lettres, des cartes postales ou d’autres objets souvenirs, pour aider à évoquer le contexte de l’histoire.

Le personnel de la bibliothèque se réserve le droit d’afficher l’entrevue entièrement ou partiellement, en consultation avec les participants et participantes.

Quelles sortes d’histoires s’y trouveront?

Souvenirs de Sudbury captera des histoires de grande ou de petite envergure qui reflètent la nature de notre communauté, de sa culture et de son passé, qui soulignent l’influence d’événements, de personnes, d’organismes, d’entreprises et d’industries qui ont façonné la ville de Sudbury et sa population.

Qu’est-ce qu’on fera de ces histoires?

Les histoires seront conservées en ligne et reliées à une carte du Grand Sudbury. Les enregistrements originaux seront entreposés à la bibliothèque.

Renseignements:
Kristen Bertrand 
Bibliothécaire - Archives et histoire locale 
705-673-1155, poste 4780