A pile of old cell phonesCell Phone Recycling

The Greater Sudbury Public Library has expanded our cell phone recycling program to provide more drop-off locations within the Greater Sudbury community.  There are now six libraries participating in the Recycle My Cell program.  While you can drop off your old cell phones at any branch, the six locations that will now host a drop-box are Main, New Sudbury, South End, Valley East, Capreol and Lively.

Did you know that the average consumer keeps a cell phone for about 2 years and only 12% of used devices are currently being recycled?  The rest are stored, gifted or thrown out.  About 96% of the materials in an average cell phone are recyclable so do your part to reduce the 20 to 50 million metric tons of e-waste that is disposed of each year worldwide.

Recycle My Cell is Canada's national recycling program for mobile phones and accessories.  This free program is run by the Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Assocation (CWTA), in conjunction with cell phone carriers and handset manufacturers, who have come together to raise awareness about the importance of cell phone recycling.

For more information, please contact:

Jessica Watts
Co-ordinator of Outreach Programs and Partnerships
Greater Sudbury Public Library
705-673-1155 extension 4754.

Une pile de vieux téléphones cellulairesRecyclage des téléphones cellulaires

La Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury étend la portée de son programme de recyclage de téléphones cellulaires en établissant de nouveaux lieux de collecte dans le Grand Sudbury.  Six succursales de la bibliothèque participent maintenant au programme « Recyle mon cell ».  Vous pouvez déposer vos vieux téléphones cellulaires dans n'importe quelle succursale, mais dans six d'entre elles - Centrale, Nouveau-Sudbury, Sud, Valley East, Capreol et Lively - il y a maintenant une boîte de collecte.

Saviez-vous que le consommateur moyen conserve untéléphone cellulaire environ deux ans seulement et qu'actuellement, on frecycle à peine 12 % de tous ces appareils usagés ? Les autres sont rangés, donnés ou jetés aux déchets.  Environ 96 % des matériaux qui entrent dans la fabrication d'un téléphone cellulaire typique sont recyclables, donc faites votre part pour réduire l'immense quantité - entre 20 et 50 tonnes métriques - de déchets électroniques qu'on élimine chaque année à l'échelle mondiale.

« Recycle mon cell » est le programme de recyclage national du Canada pour les téléphones et accessoires portables.  L'Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil (ACTS) gère ce programme gratuit en collaboration avec les entreprises de télécommunication et les fabricants d'appareils, qui se rallient pour sensibiliser le public à l'importance du recyclage des téléphones cellulaires.