Community Access Program

What is CAP?

The Community Access Program (CAP) is a Government of Canada initiative, administered by Industry Canada, that aims to provide Canadians with affordable public access to the Internet and the skills they need to use it effectively.

With the combined efforts of the federal, provincial and territorial governments, community groups, social agencies, libraries, schools, volunteer groups and the business community, CAP helps Canadians, wherever they live, take advantage of emerging opportunities in the new global knowledge-based economy. Under CAP, public locations like schools, libraries and community centres act as 'on-ramps" to the Information Highway, and provide computer support and training.

The program plays a crucial role in bridging the Digital Divide; contributing to the foundation for electronic access to government services; encouraging on-line learning and literacy; fostering the development of community based infrastructure; and, promoting Canadian e-commerce.

CAP @ GSPL

Services Available through CAP at the Greater Sudbury Public Library include:

  • Free access to the Internet
  • Free scanning
  • Printing (fee of 25¢ per page)

Please read our Internet Policy.

The Greater Sudbury Public Library also acknowledges the support of the Greater Sudbury Public Library Board of Directors and the City of Greater Sudbury.

For more information about this program, contact:
Brian Harding
Manager of Library and Heritage Resources
705-673-1155, extension 4756

Programme d'accès communautaire

Qu'est-ce que le PAC?

Le Programme d'accès communautaire (PAC) est une initiative du gouvernement du Canada administrée par Industrie Canada dont l'objectif est d'offrir aux Canadiens un accès public abordable à Internet ainsi que les compétences nécessaires pour s'en servir efficacement.

Grâce aux efforts combinés des gouvernements fédéral, provincial et territorial, des groupes communautaires, des organismes sociaux, des bibliothèques, des écoles, des groupes de bénévoles et du milieu des affaires, le PAC aide les Canadiens de partout au pays à profiter des occasions qui se présentent dans la nouvelle économie mondiale du savoir. Dans le cadre du PAC, des endroits publics comme les écoles, les bibliothèques et des centres communautaires servent de « rampe d'accès » à l'autoroute de l'information et offrent du soutien et de la formation en informatique.

Le Programme joue un rôle crucial lorsqu'il s'agit de combler le fossé numérique, de contribuer à l'établissement de l'accès électronique aux services gouvernementaux, d'encourager l'apprentissage en ligne et l'alphabétisation électronique, de favoriser le développement de l'infrastructure axée sur la collectivité et de promouvoir le commerce électronique au Canada.

PAC @ BPGS

Les services disponibles grâce au PAC à la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury comprennent:

  • L'accès Internet (gratuit)
  • Impression (gratuit)
  • Copie par balayage (L'impression coûte 25¢ la page)

Veuillez s'il vous plaît lire notre Politique sur l'accès public à l'Internet.

La Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury reconnaît l'appui du Conseil d'administration de la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury et de la Ville du Grand Sudbury.