GSPL Curbside Pickup FAQ's 

The Greater Sudbury Public Library is preparing for a gradual restart of its services as part of the provincial reopening plan. Curbside pickup of items placed on hold prior to the closure of library branches will be available by appointment beginning Tuesday, June 9, 2020. The City is currently evaluating today's provincial announcement regarding regional reopening and will issue further updates to library and other municipal services.

The Greater Sudbury Public Library will contact residents who placed a hold on books, magazines, DVDs and other library materials prior to March 16, 2020. Scheduled pickups will be available at six branches: Chelmsford, Lively, Main, New Sudbury, South End and Valley East. Items placed on hold from additional branches in the community will be available for pickup at these locations.

On This Page


FAQ's


Are the library buildings open?

No, the library buildings are not open to the public at this time. 

What does the curbside pickup service entail?

This service is a way for the library to provide materials to the public safely during COVID-19. Materials will be picked up by library patrons on an appointment basis after placing holds in advance. Initially, only patrons with holds that existed before March 16 when all GSPL locations closed for the pandemic will be called to pick up library materials. Shortly thereafter, all patrons can place new holds for pickup and will get called to schedule a pickup time.

Are all GSPL locations offering curbside pickup?

Not at this time. During the first stage, curbside pickup will be available at six (6) of our thirteen (13) locations:

What does this mean for patrons whose home library is not participating in curbside pickup?

Patrons from communities not included in the list above are welcome to pick up materials from one of the six (6) locations offering curbside pickup during the first stage. Existing holds that are ready for pickup at the smaller locations have been moved to the closest open location.

This means that holds can be picked up at:
  • Chelmsford Public Library for: Azilda, Dowling, Levack/Onaping
  • Lively Public Library for: Copper Cliff
  • New Sudbury Public Library for: Coniston, Garson 
  • Valley East Public Library for: Capreol

What if I miss my pickup time?

If you have scheduled a pickup but miss your pickup time, you will be contacted by library staff to reschedule. If you miss three consecutive appointments, your library materials will be returned to the library collection and your hold will be cancelled. 

How do I put holds on library materials?

You can place holds through the library website at www.sudburylibraries.ca by logging in with your library card and PIN. You can also place a hold through the GSPL App; by emailing gspl@greatersudbury.ca; or by calling 705-673-1155 for help from library staff. 
 

How do I book an appointment to pick up material?

After you place a hold on library material, library staff will collect your items and contact you to schedule a pickup time. NOTE: Pickup times are limited. 
 

Can I start placing holds on material for pickup?

Initially, arrangements will be made for curbside pickup on existing holds. In the coming weeks an announcement will be made that new holds can be placed and ongoing pickup will be arranged. 

How long can I have my items?

All items will be checked out for the regular loan periods - 3 weeks for books and 1 week for DVDs. 

Can I come in to browse for items?

Unfortunately, no. For the safety of library staff and the public, only staff is allowed in the building at this time. You can browse for items through the library catalogue from home or contact us for assistance. 

Can you help me find a book?

Yes, library staff can help you find a book in the catalogue over the phone or by email. You can contact library staff through the online Ask a Question form on the website or by calling 705-673-1155 for assistance.

Where do I return my items?

Items can be returned through our drop boxes located on the exterior of the six library branches offering the curbside service. The drop boxes remain closed at the remaining branches. The drop boxes will be open for the return of library items; however during curbside pickup patrons may be directed to return items in specially marked red bins.

What happens to returned items?

All library materials that are returned to the libraries will be quarantined for a 72-hour period before being checked in. This means that you may have items that remain showing as being checked out to you during the quarantine period but no late fees will accrue for any items at this time. 

When will the library buildings reopen to the public?

The library currently does not have a date for an expected reopening of buildings to the public. Libraries will reopen when permitted by the Government of Ontario, the City of Greater Sudbury and the GSPL Board.

Are library materials safe at this time?

Returned items will be processed according to the Procedures for Handling Library Materials during a Pandemic before being placed back into the circulating collection. Although we strive to practice safe handling of materials, the Greater Sudbury Public Library cannot guarantee the sanitization of all library items. Please handle them with caution. Patrons are advised to wash hands before and after handling books and other items, avoid touching their face while handling the materials, and avoid sneezing and coughing onto items.


TD Summer Reading Club On the GO Kits 



TD Summer Reading Club On the GO Kits are now available!

To reserve a TD Summer Reading Club On the GO Kit we ask patrons to call the closest branch of the 6 that are open for curbside to arrange a pickup time with library staff.

Curbside Pickup available by appointment only.

Please call your closest branch:

  • Main Public Library: 705-673-1155
  • Chelmsford Public Library and Citizen Service Centre: 705-688-3963
  • Lively Public Library and Citizen Service Centre: 705-688-3959
  • New Sudbury Public Library: 705-688-3952
  • South End Public Library: 705-688-3950
  • Valley East Public Library and Citizen Service Centre: 705-688-3961

Every week, 10 bilingual kits will be available at each one of the six curbside pickup locations.

Week 1 and 2 are now ready for pick up.

NOTE: The TD Summer Reading Club On the GO Kits are limited to one per family and are on a first come first serve basis. Pickup times are also limited.

Picking up a TD Summer Reading Club On the GO Kit also enters your kids in our end of summer prize draw.

Foire aux questions : Service devant la porte de la BPGS

La Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury se prépare à rétablir ses services graduellement dans le cadre du plan provincial de déconfinement. Le service devant la porte pour l'obtention d'articles visés par une demande de réservation avant la fermeture des succursales de la bibliothèque sera disponible sur rendez-vous à compter du mardi 9 juin 2020. La Ville étudie l'annonce faite aujourd'hui par le gouvernement provincial en matière de déconfinement et diffusera prochainement des mises à jour au sujet des services de la bibliothèque et d'autres services municipaux.


La Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury contactera les résidents qui ont fait une demande de réservation de livres, de revues, de DVD et d'autres ressources de la bibliothèque avant le 16 mars 2020. Le service devant la porte sera disponible sur rendez-vous dans six succursales : Chelmsford, Lively, Principale, Nouveau-Sudbury, Sud et Valley East. Les articles qui ont été réservés dans les autres succursales de la BPGS seront disponibles à ces six points de service.

Dans cette page


Foire aux questions


Le public a-t-il accès à l'intérieur de la bibliothèque?

Non. Les locaux de la bibliothèque ne sont pas ouverts au public à présent. 
 

En quoi consiste le service de distribution devant la porte?

Ce service permet à la bibliothèque de fournir ses ressources au public de façon sécuritaire pendant la pandémie de la COVID-19. Les utilisateurs doivent d'abord réserver le matériel qui les intéresse, puis prendre un rendez-vous pour venir le chercher. Pour commencer, la bibliothèque contactera seulement les utilisateurs qui ont fait une demande de réservation avant le 16 mars, la date où toutes les succursales de la bibliothèque ont fermé en raison de la pandémie. Un peu plus tard, tout utilisateur pourra faire une nouvelle demande de réservation. Le personnel contactera le demandeur afin de fixer le jour et l'heure du rendez-vous pour le service de distribution devant la porte. 

Est-ce que toutes les succursales de la BPGS offrent le service de distribution devant la porte?

Non, pas pour le moment. Dans cette première étape, le service devant la porte est offert par six de nos 13 succursales :

Qu'est-ce que je fais si ma succursale locale n'offre pas le service devant la porte?

Dans la première étape du programme, les résidents des secteurs non inclus dans la liste ci-dessus peuvent venir chercher le matériel dans une des succursales où le service est offert. Le matériel prêt à distribuer qui a été réservé dans une autre succursale a été envoyé à la succursale ouverte la plus proche.
Donc, les succursales qui offrent le service devant la porte peuvent couvrir les secteurs voisins :
  • La Bibliothèque publique / Centre de Services aux citoyens de Chelmsford dessert Azilda, Dowling et Levack-Onaping. 
  • La Bibliothèque publique / Centre de Services aux citoyens de Lively dessert Copper Cliff. 
  • La Bibliothèque publique du Nouveau-Sudbury dessert Coniston et Garson. 
  • La Bibliothèque publique / Centre de Services aux citoyens de Valley East dessert Capreol.

Qu'est-ce qui arrive si je manque mon rendez-vous?

Si vous ne vous présentez pas à votre rendez-vous pour le service devant la porte, le personnel de la bibliothèque vous contactera afin de fixer un nouveau rendez-vous. Si vous manquez trois rendez-vous de suite, le matériel que vous avez réservé retourne à la collection de la bibliothèque et votre réservation est annulée. 

Comment puis-je réserver du matériel de la bibliothèque?

Vous pouvez faire une demande de réservation dans le site Web de la bibliothèque au www.sudburybiblios.ca en utilisant votre carte de bibliothèque et votre NIP. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser l'application de la BPGS, envoyer un courriel à gspl@grandsudbury.ca ou téléphoner au 705-673-1155 pour demander l'aide du personnel. 

Comment puis-je obtenir un rendez-vous pour aller chercher mon matériel?

Après que vous avez réservé du matériel, le personnel de la bibliothèque l'obtient et vous contacte afin de fixer un rendez-vous pour le service de distribution devant la porte. N.B. Les heures du service sont limitées. 

Est-ce que je peux maintenant réserver du matériel de la bibliothèque?

Pour commencer, le service de distribution devant la porte s'occupe des réservations existantes. Dans les prochaines semaines, la bibliothèque annoncera qu'elle accepte de nouvelles demandes de réservation et vous pourrez l'obtenir grâce au service devant la porte. 
 

Quelle est la durée du prêt?

La durée de prêt régulière s'applique à tous les articles : 3 semaines pour les livres et 1 semaine pour les DVD.

Puis-je entrer dans la bibliothèque pour fureter dans les rayons?

Non, malheureusement. Pour assurer la sécurité du personnel et du public, seul le personnel peut entrer dans la bibliothèque à présent. Vous pouvez explorer le catalogue de la bibliothèque en ligne ou nous contacter pour obtenir de l'aide. 

Pouvez-vous m'aider à trouver un livre?

Oui, le personnel de la bibliothèque peut vous aider à trouver un livre par téléphone ou courriel. Vous pouvez contacter le personnel en utilisant le formulaire Information par courriel sur le site Web ou en téléphonant au 705-673-1155.

Où est-ce que je dois rapporter mon matériel?

Vous pouvez déposer les articles à rapporter dans nos boîtes de retour à l'extérieur des six succursales qui offrent le service devant la porte. Dans les autres succursales, les boîtes de retour demeurent fermées. Les boîtes de retour peuvent servir pour déposer du matériel, mais quand le service devant la porte est en fonction, on pourrait vous demander de le déposer dans des bacs rouges identifiés à cette fin.

Comment la bibliothèque traite-t-elle le matériel rapporté?

Le matériel rapporté à la bibliothèque est mis en quarantaine pendant 72 heures et le retour est enregistré ensuite. Donc, il se peut que le matériel que vous avez rapporté apparaisse encore comme un prêt dans votre dossier pendant ce temps de quarantaine, mais les frais de retard ne s'appliquent pas. 

Quand le public pourra-t-il entrer dans la bibliothèque?

La date de la réouverture des locaux des bibliothèques au public n'est pas encore connue. Ils rouvriront quand ce sera autorisé par le gouvernement de l'Ontario, la Ville du Grand Sudbury et le conseil d'administration de la BPGS. 

Est-ce sécuritaire à présent de manipuler le matériel de la bibliothèque?

Avant d'être replacé dans la collection du matériel en circulation, le matériel rapporté à la bibliothèque est traité selon les procédures pour la manipulation du matériel en temps de pandémie. Nous veillons à manipuler le matériel de façon sécuritaire, mais la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury ne peut pas garantir que tout le matériel de la bibliothèque sera aseptisé. Veuillez manipuler votre matériel avec précaution. Nous vous conseillons de laver vos mains avant et après la manipulation des livres ou de tout autre matériel, d'éviter de vous toucher le visage quand vous manipulez le matériel et d'éviter d'éternuer ou de tousser sur le matériel.