Meet Your Poet Laureate:

Vera Constantineau

Vera Constantineau smiling towards the camera.The tradition of Poet Laureate dates back to the court poets of England in the 1600s. In centuries since, the Poet Laureate has outgrown the confines of the royal court to fulfill a human need to leave our mark on the passage of time. The City of Greater Sudbury continues to create its own history with the appointment of Greater Sudbury's sixth Poet Laureate, Vera Constantineau.

About Vera

Poet and short fiction writer Vera Constantineau is Greater Sudbury's sixth Poet Laureate. Beginning her freelance writing career in 1994, Constantineau has developed a reputation as an award-winning haiku/senryu poet. She is currently working with an editor on the manuscript of her first haiku collection. She is the author of Daisy Chained, a self-published collection of short fiction.

Constantineau's poetry and short fiction has been published in journals both online and print, as well as anthologies in Canada as well as Internationally in England, Ireland, New Zealand and the United States. For many years Vera wrote humour columns for a variety of northern weekly newspapers. In 2019 her essay Options was included in the anthology Against Death--35 Essays on Living published by Anvil Press of Vancouver B.C.

During her two-year term as Poet Laureate, Constantineau plans to continue leading groups devoted to the writing of poetry at the Copper Cliff Branch of the Library, something she began three years ago. In addition, Vera plans to record a poetry podcast (the P. L. Pod). Links to this podcast will be posted on the Sudbury Library website. Supporting and expanding the poetry community is a goal, also important is maintaining and adding to terra north/nord, the e-zine created by Greater Sudbury's first Poet Laureate Roger Nash.

The work of each past Laureate is a building block for poetry and the literary community and working to continue that is paramount.

Contact the Poet Laureate

You can reach Vera by email at Vera.Constantineau@greatersudbury.ca.

You can also learn more about Vera online at http://veraconstantineau.com/

P.L. Pod

During her time as Poet Laureate, Vera will record her "P.L. Pod" poetry podcast. Check out the podcast today.

Recent Events

Check back often to see the photo gallery of events featuring Sudbury's sixth Poet Laureate.

FREE Youth & Family Interactive Online Workshop from ELAN

Learn more about The Great Summer Haiku Contest for Kids with Angela Leuck

Recent News about the Poet Laureate

Rencontrez votre poète officielle :

Vera Constantineau regarde la caméra en souriant.

Vera Constantineau

La tradition du poète officiel remonte aux poètes de la cour d'Angleterre dans les années 1600. Au cours des siècles suivants, la fonction de poète officiel a franchi les limites de la cour royale pour répondre au besoin qu'ont les humains de laisser une marque qui survivra au passage du temps. La Ville du Grand Sudbury continue d'écrire sa propre histoire en nommant sa sixième poète officielle du Grand Sudbury,Vera Constantineau.

Au sujet de Vera

La poète et nouvelliste Vera Constantineau est la sixième poète officielle du Grand Sudbury. Les débuts de sa carrière en écriture remontent à 1994 et depuis, elle a acquis une réputation de poète primée pour ses haïkus et ses senryus. Elle travaille actuellement avec un éditeur sur le manuscrit de sa première collection de haïkus. Elle est l'auteure de Daisy Chained, une collection de nouvelles qui sera publiée à compte d'auteur.

La poésie et les nouvelles de Constantineau ont été publiées dans diverses revues en ligne et imprimées, ainsi que dans des anthologies au Canada et internationalement, en Angleterre, en Irlande, en Nouvelle-Zélande et aux États-Unis. Pendant nombre d'années, Vera rédigeait des billets humoristiques pour divers journaux hebdomadaires du Nord. En 2019, son essai Options est paru dans l'anthologie Against Death -35 Essays on Living, publié par Anvil Press de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique).

Au cours de son mandat de deux ans à titre de poète officielle, Constantineau prévoit animer des groupes axés sur l'écriture de la poésie à la succursale de Copper Cliff de la Bibliothèque publique du Grand Sudbury, une activité dont elle s'occupe déjà depuis trois ans. De plus, elle projette d'enregistrer un balado, The P.L. Pod, qui sera affiché sur le site Web de la bibliothèque. Elle a pour but de soutenir et d'élargir la communauté des poètes, ainsi que la revue terra north/nord, la revue électronique fondée par le premier poète officiel du Grand Sudbury, Roger Nash.

Le travail de tous les poètes officiels du passé sert de fondement pour la communauté des poètes et écrivains locaux et la suite à donner à leurs efforts est de première importance.

Communiquez avec la poète officielle

Vous pouvez joindre Vera par courriel au Vera.Constantineau@greatersudbury.ca.

Vous pouvez aussi vous renseigner sur Vera en ligne à http://veraconstantineau.com.

P.L. Pod

Au cours de son mandat de poète officielle, Vera enregistra son balado de poésie « P.L. Pod ». Écoutez le balado dès aujourd'hui.  

Événements récents

Consultez cette page régulièrement pour voir des photos d'événements auxquels a participé la sixième poète officielle de Sudbury.

GRATUIT! Un atelier interactif en ligne pour enfants et familles offert par ELAN.

Renseignez-vous sur le Grand concours de haïkus sur l'été pour enfants

Nouvelles récentes au sujet de la poète officielle