Summer Reading club banner of characters participating in outdoor activities.

TD Summer Reading Club 2020

A squirrel, a beaver, a panda, a giraffe, and a raccoon playing a board game
This summer, let's gather together to cheer each other on as we achieve our personal best. We can play on a team, knowing we're better together, or play on our own to see how far we can go. We'll learn about our world, ourselves and each other through play and if we stumble along the way, we'll get up laughing and keep on trying, because failing is sometimes part of the game.

Whether we're playing in the library, online, around a table or in a field, independently or on a team, we'll stretch our physical and mental limits and give it our best, for the love of the game. 

Update During COVID-19 Pandemic


This year, the GSPL's Summer Reading Club will be taking place entirely online to help support social distancing practices and help keep your loved ones safe. Our staff are working hard to provide fun and engaging programs for you to enjoy from the comfort of your home.  

How to Participate 

Registration

Registration for this year's Summer Reading Club can be completed online at tdsummerreadingclub.ca starting Monday, June 15th.   

After Registration

Once registered online, you will be able to create digital notebooks to track your activities through the summer. You can track many activities including the books you read, games you play, and even recipes. These notebooks can be customized for you, and for every activity you log, you will earn a virtual badge. 

The TD Summer Reading Club website also offers many fun activities for you to complete over the summer including:
  • Access to eBooks for you to read online
  • Voting in the Battle of the Books Tournament
  • Participation in weekly trivia
  • Writing stories and reviews
  • and more...

What is the TD Summer Reading Club?

A group of animals reading a book together
This bilingual program is designed to keep kids reading over the summer by offering a fun club with games, prizes, activities and more reasons to read. Research proves that reading over the summer helps kids when they return to school and of course strong literacy skills help children throughout their lives. Besides, who wouldn't want to come and imagine, create, sing, dance, and just have fun?

When is it?

The GSPL will be running the Summer Reading Club from July 6th to August 21st

Who can join?

Children of all ages are invited to join in the fun this summer. Families can read together; siblings can read to each other; mom and dad can read to their babies; grandma and grandpa can read to the family. As long as your children are reading or being read to, they are in the club!

How much does it cost?

There is no cost to participate in the Summer Reading Club.

Grand Prizes

More information on prizes coming soon.

Group of people and a dog happily dancing.

Weekly Activities

Along with the content from the TD Summer Reading Club website, the staff of the GSPL is offering fun weekly theme activities designed to support your reading and creativity over the program. 



Logos of: Toronto Public Library, Library and Archives Canada, and TD Bank

Bannière du Club de lecture d'été qui montre des personnages participant à des activités à l'extérieur

Le Club de lecture d'été TD 2020

Un écureuil, un castor, un panda, une girafe, un lapin et un raton-laveur jouent un jeu de plateau.

Cet été, retrouvons-nous pour jouer, nous encourager et donner le meilleur de nous-mêmes! À travers le jeu, découvre le monde qui t'entoure et apprends à te connaître et à connaître les autres. Vois jusqu'où tu peux aller, en solo ou en équipe. Tu rencontreras peut-être des obstacles : ce n'est pas grave! L'important, c'est d'essayer et d'avoir du plaisir.

À la bibliothèque, en ligne, autour d'une table ou dehors, viens jouer! Repousse tes limites, fais de ton mieux et amuse-toi!

**Nouveau pendant la pandémie de la COVID-19**


Cette année, le Club de lecture d'été de la BPGS offrira ses activités entièrement en ligne pour favoriser la distanciation sociale et assurer la sécurité de vos êtres chers. Notre personnel travaille fort pour vous offrir une programmation intéressante et amusante dont vous pourrez profiter dans le confort de votre demeure.

Comment participer

Inscription

Tu peux t'inscrire en ligne au Club de lecture d'été sur le site clubdelecturetd.ca à compter du le lundi 15 juin. 

Après l'inscription

Après que tu auras procédé à ton inscription en ligne, tu pourras créer des blocs-notes électroniques pour y noter tes activités tout au long de l'été. Tu peux y noter plein de choses, par exemple, les livres que tu as lus, les jeux que tu as joués et même des recettes. Ces blocs sont personnalisables exprès pour toi et chaque activité inscrite peut te faire gagner un insigne virtuel. 

Le site Web du Club de lecture d'été TD offre aussi un grand nombre d'activités amusantes que tu peux faire cet été, par exemple :
  • Obtenir des livres électroniques à lire en ligne
  • Voter lors du tournoi de la Bataille des livres
  • Participer au jeu-questionnaire chaque semaine
  • Écrire des histoires et des critiques de livres
  • et plus encore...

Qu'est-ce que le Club de lecture d'été TD?

Un groupe d'animaux lisent un livre ensemble.
Ce programme bilingue encourage les enfants à lire tout au long de l'été dans le cadre d'un club amusant qui offre des jeux, des prix, des activités et plein d'autres bonnes raisons de lire. La recherche démontre que la lecture pendant les mois d'été aide les enfants lorsqu'ils retournent à l'école et, bien entendu, les habiletés de la littératie avantageront les enfants pendant toute leur vie. De toute façon, qui n'aimerait pas y participer pour imaginer, créer, chanter, danser et simplement s'amuser?

C'est quand?

Les programmes ont lieu dans les bibliothèques du 6 juillet au 21 août.

Qui peut s'y joindre?

On invite les enfants de tout âge à profiter de ces plaisirs cet été. Les familles peuvent lire ensemble; les frères et sœurs peuvent se faire la lecture; papa et maman peuvent faire la lecture à leur bébé; grand-maman et grand-papa peuvent faire la lecture à la famille. Dès que les enfants lisent ou qu'on leur fait la lecture, ils font partie du club!

Qu'est-ce que ça coûte?

Il n'y a rien à payer pour participer au Club de lecture d'été.


Grand prix

Le gros prix du Club de lecture d'été TD 2020 est un Nintendo Switch et un panier de lecture!

Comment gagner un bulletin de participation?

Tous les vendredis à partir du 10 juillet, nous demandons aux parents et à leurs enfants de se connecter sur notre groupe Kids Programs @ GSPLibrary sur Facebook! Tout ce que vous avez à faire est de commenter ou de partager sur nos publications de Défi de lecture et Défi de la semaine pour gagner des bulletins.


Un groupe de personnes et un chien dansent joyeusement.

Activités hebdomadaires

En plus du contenu du site Web du Club de lecture d'été TD, le personnel de la BPGS offre d'amusantes activités thématiques chaque semaine pour t'encourager à lire et à créer pendant le programme. 


Logos:Toronto Public Library,Bibliothèque et archives Canada,Banque TD